A little bookworm ;)

I thought I should probably do a quick book review while these books are still fresh in my mind.  My reviews of books after a couple of months of finishing usually breaks down to, “I liked it” or “eh . . . I’ve read better” lol.  I know, not too insightful!

So, here goes:

I read Dan Brown’s Deception Point one and half times, which is more than I can say for all other books I’ve read!.  Even when I LOVE a book, I only read it once since I prefer to start new adventures rather than looking back :).  But anyways, after getting halfway through the book the first time, it ended up on my shelf for 2 years! It’s not that I wasn’t enjoying it, but I kept getting lost and would have to re-read parts.  Brown loves to go into great scientific detail. In this case- meteorites, planes, and advanced technology were his topics of interest.  I found myself interested in some of the detail, and kind of bored with others.  Despite that, I did actually really enjoy the book (when I finally read it all the way through), but in parts it took some effort to stick with it.

I am such a sucker for anything written by Nicholas Sparks.  I can’t believe this one is already being made into a movie! Okay, yes I can.  I just hope they don’t cast another Disney person in the lead role!  It had been awhile since I read one of Sparks’ books, so I thoroughly enjoyed this one– read it cover to cover on a Sunday.  It has a bit of a twist from his other novels, which I liked.  It added some dimension to the typical love story.  It reminded me quite a bit of another one of his novels, The Guardian.

And finally, this book will stay with me for quite some time.  It’s one of those novels that I’m just so happy that I purchased because I want to pass it around to everyone I know.  The main character in this novel is diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimers, and it is written from her perspective. Whether you know someone who has Alzheimers or not, I know you will enjoy this book.  It gives you a real appreciation for life and family.  I have a close family member who was diagnosed with Alzheimers and even studied the disease in some of my Psychology classes, but nothing has given me such a close perspective to what Alzheimer’s really is as this book.  A good read indeed :)

Actually, they were all good reads!  Next on my list are Something Borrowed (currently reading so I can finish before the movie), Hunger Games, which was recommended to me so many times that I couldn’t not add it to my list.  And finally, The Lost Symbol.  Yup, another Dan Brown novel, but my brother-in-law claims it’s good, so I guess I’ll have to give it a try :)

Leave a Reply

