Book Review: Room by Emma Donoghue

7937843Sometimes I go into the library knowing exactly what book I’m going to pick up.  Other times I just browse the shelves and select the books that have the most interesting book bindings cover art- I know pretty vain, huh? I usually pick up 4 or 5 books knowing that I’ll probably only read one or two all the way through, but I’m good with that.  This was the book that I chose from my stack of four.

This book was heartbreaking and gripping.  I got about 20 pages in and put it down for awhile thinking I needed to stop because the content was just really difficult to think about.  I had to come back to it though to find out what was going to happen to the 5-year-old boy and his mother that were being held captive in a kidnapper’s shed. It is told from the perspective of the little boy so at times it is a little difficult to read, yet I think the storytelling is done so much more effectively by having it told from his point of view. As I mentioned, this story is heartbreaking at times but I also found many of the moments to be uplifting and empowering.  It definitely made me feel incredibly blessed to live my life as a free person.  Totally a recommended book.

Currently on my nightstand:

Anyway: The Paradoxical Commandments

Before Happiness

Aleph

Leave a Reply

